I was reading my daily devotions, the coffee of the heart to start my day.  In this particular devotion it comes from a wonderful book I picked up for a dollar at a booksale, not ever realizing how popular the book is through the decades.        The book is called “Streams in the Desert”.  My copyright is from 1925.    I read a poem within the daily especially for June 15, and I loved it. 

The verse that accompanys it is from Genesis 41:52

*The summer showers are falling.  The poet stands by the window watching them.  They are beating and buffeting the earth with their fierce downpour.  But the poet sees in his imaginings more than the showers which are falling before his eyes.  He sees myriads of lovely flowers which shall soon be breaking forth from the watered earth, filling it with matchless beauty and fragrance.  And so he sing:

 

* “It isn’t raining rain for me, it’s raining

                                        daffodills;                                                  

In every dimpling drop I see wild flowers upon the hills.

A cloud of gray engulfs the day, and overwhelms the town:

It isn’t raining rain for me: it’s raining roses down.”

 

I love the rain and I just recently spoke on my other blog of the flowers my mother could grow in her garden, they were beautiful, without the rain they wither and die, in our life we have rain and we become frustrated with it but out of the rain comes a refreshment and a new growth that hopefully will give new life.

Another paragraph is very poetic and poingnant as well

*”Testings are raining upon me which seem beyond my power to endure.  Disappointments are raining fast, to the utter defeat of all my chosen plans.  Bereavements are raining into my life which are making my shrinking heart quiver in it’s intensity of suffereing.  The rain of affliction is surely beating down upon my soul these days.”

Testing purifies the soul

rain draws beauty out of dirt.

 

 

*(Streams in the Desert

pub. by Oriental Missionary society 1945)